Our History

The Wake family have been in South Northamptonshire since the thirteenth century, and at Courteenhall since 1672. Four generations of the family live and work on the Estate now.

Courteenhall is a vibrant business and a way of life for those who live there and is mentioned in the Domesday book. The Estate came into the family originally through an uncle who died without children. It has been farmed since records began.

Over the last few generations the Estate has gradually built up its farming business to farm progressively, efficiently and environmentally both for itself and on a contractual basis for other local farmers.

The original manor house was built in 1572 but was pulled down and replaced with the current Hall in 1792 by Sir William Wake, the tenth baronet. The Hall is a beautiful Georgian house which has changed little in appearance, retaining almost all of its original features. It is home to the Wake family but doubles up as an exclusive venue for hosting a variety of events as well as filming and photoshoots.

As well as the Hall, there are a large number of characterful period buildings around the Estate, many of which are available as residential properties to rent.

There was little woodland on the Estate until the thirteenth and fourteenth baronets began planting trees. Courteenhall is now blessed with some lovely woods and its internationally reputed arboretum.

If you would like to learn more about the history of Courteenhall and the Wakes, copies of “The Wakes of Northamptonshire” are available for purchase by contacting us.

  • Built in 1791
  • Grade II* Listed
  • The Wake Family
  • Repton designed parkland

The Arboretum, Courteenhall

Aerial View of Courteenhall

General Courteenhall Enquiry Form